Oh yeah!! I still have it!

16 05 2008

WOOHOO!! I still got it!! I still have that sense of wonder and excitement when a new idea or design comes full circle! You have to check these out!

This ring is a hollow form (meaning that rather than being solid silver all the way through, it’s hollow on the inside. Originally I was going to use garnet cabochons on this one, however I didn’t have two that were even remotely alike! So I rooted through all my gemstones (and those that know me know I have WAY too many!), and found these amethyst teardrops that just seemed perfect. Even though this one is hollow, I used a rather thick metal for the outer shape so it is a bit heavy. Just makes it seem more rich to me! LOL!

Now this one was quite the challenge!! But it all worked out in the end, and I think I really like it! It doesn’t fit me, but I don’t think it will be one of those rings you want to wear 24/7. However, if you want to make a statement, then this one is it! Another hollow form, much lighter than the amethyst one, this was constructed completely with 24ga sterling silver sheet (I know, means nothing to those that don’t make jewelry! LOL). It’s actually quite light. The marquis shaped stone on top is a blue/green tourmaline (more green than blue) and the small stones on either side are cubic zirconias. It certainly is a fun one!

That’s not all I did! Oh no! On Tuesday, I spent a few hours making beads for a friend, and here are some of the leftovers.

This is a large (almost 2 inches long) leaf bead. There’s a loop at the top that is used to hang it with. This one is a reject. I let it get too cool before I put it in the kiln and there are some small internal fractures that are sure to break completely before much longer. The one that my friend took turned out perfect for her needs, wish I’d gotten a picture of it! LOL

The big round one with the metallic scrolls is hollow (hmmm, noticing a trend! LOL). It’s about the size of a kiwi – HUGE! The second one has dichroic in it that doesn’t photograph very well. In real life, it really sparkles. It was quite a bit smaller. Not sure why, but I was on an orange kick while making beads the other day. And I don’t even like orange! LOL But they were so much fun to make.

Since I’m on a photo roll, here’s a couple of pics of the girls, Bailey (on the left) and Jessie (on the right).

Whew!! I better get going and get some work done!! Hope you enjoyed the pictures, I sure enjoyed making the jewelry! Fingers crossed I can stay on this roll!! Cheers!

Actions

Information

7 responses

17 05 2008
Darlene

OMG!!!! Barrie, you absolutely do still ‘have it’, not that anyone that knows you would have any doubt.
The rings are stunners, and the beads are jaw droppers.
Beautiful, just beautiful.
The pups are soooo sweet looking, innocent even.
Darlene
P.S. So, what’s wrong with orange???

17 05 2008
barrieedwards

LOL Darlene, there’s nothing wrong with orange if you like orange! In all honesty, I was thinking of you while I was making these! Go figure! Wait til you see them in person! Oh, and there’s NOTHING innocent about those two pups!! (and thank you for the kudos on the rings!)

19 05 2008
Tammy

You are amazing! I would LOVE to be able to take one of your classes! Keep ’em coming!

20 05 2008
Bee

I hope you’re doing a little happy dance as you’re saying “I still have it”!! The rings are beautiful…but I had a sneak preview and I saw the direction they were going in. ๐Ÿ™‚ There was never a moment that I thought you didn’t have ‘it’…’it’ was just taking a little break.

20 05 2008
pinkzinnias

Barrie – I love the rings! and the beads! ๐Ÿ™‚

24 05 2008
Evalie

Barrie, these are all awesome! That first ring is a stunner. Although I don’t care much for the color orange, I love to design with it in my quilts because it really adds some sizzle. I haven’t used much in jewelry though…maybe I’m chicken.

19 06 2008
Immolator

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Immolator!!

Leave a Reply

