Midnight Posting!!

21 06 2008

It’s actually after midnight! I just got back from picking the boys up from gaming night. After all the dropping off of various kids around town (they’re NOT staying here! LOL!), by the time I get home it’s about an hour round trip. Quite the exciting Friday evenings I have! LOL Ah well, at least I know that they’re safe, not out partying, drinking or doing drugs (at 17 yrs old, my youngest son is incredibly responsible, kind, and thoughtful – most of the time! He is a boy after all!). I’m watching my favorite comedian (Craig Ferguson – he has the late late show after Letterman), snuggling a kitty or two, and I thought I’d show you guys my jewelry – just custom stuff, but still nice enough. This first one is an aquamarine on a silver band (hammered) with a gold bezel and little gold balls.

Second one is quite similar, but different stone – this one is a moonstone on a smooth silver band with the gold bezel and balls.

And finally is one of my sticks and stones rings. It’s actually not a new ring, it’s one I made a while ago, I just had to size it up and narrow the back of the band a bit. It’s still pretty though! πŸ™‚

I have a few sticks and stones rings on the go in the studio. The gallery has been selling them well this past month. Whew!! Speaking of the studio, I have a tumbler full of those tiny little charms that I made last week. I’ll be filling them with all kinds of fun colors tomorrow. I made a new leaf pendant that will get some resin too. I would still be in there working tonight, but as I mentioned, I had to go get the boys. Well that and my eyes are just not cooperating with me tonight. They must be tired. I know the rest of me is. But I always need to wind down a bit after that long drive. At least the weather was good, I took Jessie (our terrier) with me for company on the way there, and the boys are so incredibly silly that I giggle most of the way home.

Oh, I know what else I was going to mention!! I have some reticulated sterling silver pieces that will be going up in my Etsy store this weekend – here’s what one of them looks like

This is the front of the piece. Here, I’ll show you the back of the same piece –

Reticulated silver is a heat treatment that makes the sterling silver look like crinkled tin foil. It’s fantastic for adding texture to your designs. It’s easily cut, soldered, etc, so don’t be afraid to experiment. For those that want to know how it’s made, I teach that in several of my classes. It’s not hard, just takes a bit of practice and a lot of patience.

One last thing I want to add, Wet Canvas is a favorite forum that I frequent (Wearable Arts section), and unfortunately tonight the site is down (has been all day!) and I really miss my online buddies there! We chat about all kinds of things, but have a fantastic friendship built up and I have to say it’s weird not to be able to check in with them! πŸ™‚ So for all of you – Rita, Pam, Fiona, Charissa, Andee, Claire, Gwen, Dawn, Maggie, and all the rest of you – hope WC is back up and running soon! I miss ya all!!!

Now, enough babbling from me, I’m off to bed. Must head to town tomorrow to get the dreaded new glasses! At least I have a lovely new purse to carry them home in! Tee hee! I still LOVE it! πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend everyone!

Actions

Information

8 responses

21 06 2008
Andee

Hi Barrie – I miss you, too (and the rest of the gang, of course). It looks like we’ll be without WC! for the whole weekend… :o( Great new (and old) rings btw, the S&S I like the most, what a gorgeous blue!

21 06 2008
Rita Reedy

Hi Barrie, I see Andee is lurking here too!!! I miss you guys so much already and it is only Saturday morning!!! It made me laugh when you were talking about your favorite comedian, Craig Ferguson, because he is mine, too. I have to stay up late just to watch him!! I am sometimes tempted to record him so my dad could see him, too. Love the rings, and that reticulated silver looks way cool!!! Have a great weekend!!!

22 06 2008
barrieedwards

Thanks you guys!! The WC website says it will be down all weekend, possibly longer! AAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!! Say it ain’t so! I’m going through serious withdrawls! LOL! Might have to just make jewelry instead!!! πŸ™‚

Rita, I told you we were sisters! LOL I just love Craig Ferguson’s sense of humor (the accent is wonderful too! LOL). I know I’ll laugh when I see his show – worth waiting up for!

Cheers!

23 06 2008
Tammy

I love the new rings, and the very cool purse! Have a great week!

23 06 2008
Rita Reedy

Hi again Barrie, I am so lonely. I need my WC. You are totally right about Craig Ferguson’s sense of humor. He never fails to crack me up. No matter what the subject matter, no one makes me laugh out loud like he does. He is also brilliant. I have loved him since his days on the Drew Carey show, and was so delighted when he started on late night. I am just sorry I didn’t tape the old stuff when I couldn’t stay up that late. Hoping we will have some WC tomorrow. It’s as bad as missing my coffee, just can’t face the day without it. πŸ˜€

23 06 2008
Andee

Hi Rita, Barrie – it’s taking too darn long already, isn’t it, and it looks like it will take another while… Suffering from withdrawal symptoms here! πŸ˜€

24 06 2008
Pam

hiya Barrie! And Andee and Rita! Just had to stop by and see what you are up to – love love that top ring with the light blue. Miss all of you at WC! xoxo

24 06 2008
barrieedwards

Rita, Andee, Pam – it’s taking toooooo long!!! I miss you so much! Sad bunch, aren’t we?! LOL!

Thanks Tammy!!!

Leave a Reply

