So much to do, so little time! :)

6 07 2008

You know, it doesn’t matter how much time you have, it’s never enough! I crammed a ton of stuff into this week, and still didn’t manage to get everything done. On a plus note I did get to do some of the things that I needed or wanted to. On Thursday I had an online buddy come to my studio for an in-real-life visit! (waves to Rina!!) We chatted for hours and had a lovely time. If you’re ever planning to be in my neighborhood, drop me a note and we’ll try to get together! On Friday, I had a day with my 5 yr old granddaughter who is firmly convinced that I let her do whatever she wants. I do not!!! I just word it so she thinks that whatever I want is what she wants, and it works great most of the time! LOL What else did I do? Oh, I have a new design I’m working on. I call it the monster necklace because there are so many ‘sections’ to it – okay, so they’re more like little domed cups – here, let me show you the before picture:

And here’s what I did with it – blue & green resin – each cup filed to the brim with the colored resin, gives each one a real shimmery look. Someone commented that it looks like Wearable Water! LOL I love that!

Don’t mind the crappy picture, I was in a hurry and the background paper is actually a kind of creamy color. I need to get a good picture of it soon – and I’m going to make more!! Oh, I should mention that although I call this the monster, and it does have 15 little cups, it’s not that huge – It’s about 2 1/2 inches long and only about 1 3/4 inches across the top. The small cups are 1/4″ in diameter, the largest ones are about 5/8″ I think (it’s not here right now). Anyway, enough technical data!! Suffice it to say that it POPS in color so much more in real life. I’ll get an outside shot of it soon and post that. I think the next one I make will be orange and pink – or maybe purple and brown. Sigh, back to that! LOL I tell you half the fun of this thing is the color options! 🙂

What else? Oh, got to babysit Dayton tonight for the first time!! He’s such a good baby. We wouldn’t have it any other way though. I have to admit I finally figured out (after what? 25 years?) why hubby and I have 4 kids. He LOVES babies!!! Absolutely LOVES babies. Now, if you know my hubby, (yes, I mean Randy!) he does not strike you as the type that would love babies so much. But you know, there’s something incredibly wonderful about a man who is all for snuggling a little tiny bundle of baby-ness!! (oh, blech! I sound like a freakin Hallmark card! ROFL!). We’re as bad as each other, and that’s why we have 4 kids! They start off life as cute little bundles. Too bad they have to go through the teenager stage – that part sucks!!

Now, a big hug to my friend with the sick kitty. Hope kitty is feeling better – keep me posted!! I’m teaching this weekend at Mountain Gems – I know, I said I wouldn’t do that again. But the timing was right, and one of the students is a lady that I was ‘connected’ to through the bead show. I wanted to meet her, and this was a great way to do it. And it’s wonderful that the other 5 ladies in the class are awesome too!! We had some good laughs today, and they even got their ring shanks made before it was time to go. Tomorrow morning, we make the bezels, solder them on, polish them and set the stones. Can’t wait to see the looks on their faces when they get to that point!!! LOL

Well, I could talk your ear off, but I’ll spare you! I’m off to find something for dinner (better late than never!), pack a lunch for tomorrow then head for bed soon. It’s been a long day!! Hope your weekend is going great!

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 07 2008
Rita Reedy

Sounds like your class is going great. Love the man who loves babies. He is the perfect guy, and he cooks!!! Great picking Barrie!!!

7 07 2008
Tammy

I sure wish I was in your class! I’m teaching myself. Not fun!
Babies are a trap, just like puppies and kittens! They are so cute and cuddly that it makes you want one, then they turn into teenagers! Oh horror! LOL I love having a grand daughter! All the cuteness and none of the awful! My hubby is NOT crazy about babies! He’s like most men, and thinks they’ll break when you hold them! He doesn’t have any of his own, but he’s has been raising mine for 10 years! He does love the grand daughter, though, now that she’s a little bigger than a baby! LOL
I would love to see this necklace on you. That way we could get a better sense of the size, because it looks really big with no reference point! It is gorgeous, though! I love it! It would cool you off on a hot summer day!

7 07 2008
pinkzinnias

Barrie – I love the color combo you finally chose! What a necklace!

~M

21 07 2008
Kewlie (Tracey)

G’Day Barrie!

I wanted to comment on your Colourful resin necklace, it is gorgeous… the two colours compliment each other so well.
I love all of your work. Your puppy dogs and cat pics are cute! Oh, and as for your grandson and grand daughter pics… they are adorable!
They grow up so fast! I enjoy reading your blog, it is fub and enlightening to read. I also wish i could be in your class for jewellery making (buy, i live so far awayyyy, lol)
Ahh well! lol

Take care my friend.

21 07 2008
Kewlie (Tracey)

fub = fun*

(Sorry, i made a typo) 😦
and buy = but* (Arghhh, i forgot to proof read it before hitting on submit post)

Leave a Reply

