Oh Happy Sunday!!

21 07 2008

What a great weekend!! I had a surface texture class here yesterday and today. My two students were awesome and we had a great time. And the best part was they both made lots of textured pieces of metal as well as several very nice jewelry pieces! I will post lots of pictures tomorrow of the textured metal that we made. I have a large quantity of textured copper that I’ve made over the past few years that I’m going to put up on my Etsy site this week. I will never use it and it seems a waste to just throw it out. I know there are tons of artists that love working with copper – I’m just not one of them!

I also managed to make two sticks and stones rings over the weekend too – gotta keep the gallery stocked! πŸ™‚ The first one is a teardrop faceted rose quartz and a small garnet.

The second one is a bitter disappointment! LOL It’s an ammolite and garnet, and as I was setting the ammolite I ended up cracking it. It had a little flaw, so I shouldn’t be surprised, but it always annoys me when I scerw something up! LOL Here, let me show you….

You can’t see it in the picture, but it’s REALLY obvious in real life. So I have two options at this point, I can scrap the stone and save the setting for some day in the distant future when I have a stone that fits it as is, or I can mix ups some resin and pour a VERY thin layer of resin over the top of the ammolite. Ammolite is very often coated with resin or covered with a thin quartz cap (called a doublet or triplet). So I’m going to try the resin coating and see how it looks. As long as I disclose it if I sell it (at a discount of course!), I don’t see a big problem. Mind you, I might get it done and hate it, we’ll see!! LOL!

What else did I make this weekend (been busy, remember!) – oh yes! Here’s the orange and pink monster necklace (gotta come up with a better name for these!)

And earrings to match!

And a pair to match last week’s blue and green monster necklace (although the blues don’t quite match 😦 ). I haven’t decided if I’m going to redo the resin in these or the necklace or just ignore it (no, I won’t ignore it, we all know that! LOL).

Oh wait, there’s still more! Yup, when I’m on a roll, I’m on a roll!! Here’s a ring to match the style of my Pathways bracelet (in a much earlier blog post – mine is pink tourmaline and amethyst – remember that one?). Anyhoo, the ring is a pink sapphire, London blue topaz, amethyst, green tourmaline, and apatite (the tiny one). It’s a ring that will go from knuckle to knuckle, so not for the shrinking violet type. I’m liking it, I think. My students liked it – and they have great taste (took my class didn’t they?!? LOL).


And finally, here’s a custom ring that’s heading to the gallery tomorrow morning – champagne cubic zirconia with 14k gold balls.

Whew! That was a lot of work! LOL! I’m hoping to get more stuff done this week, we shall see!! Hope you all have a great week – I’m off (I do believe dh has dinner ready! I’m so spoiled!). Cheers!

Actions

Information

8 responses

21 07 2008
Kewlie (Tracey)

Barrie! I LOVE the matching pink & orange resin earrings! I alos love your earwires! Are they hard to make?
πŸ™‚

21 07 2008
barrieedwards

Thanks Tracy (hah!! Now I know you’re real name! LOL!). Those ear wires are super easy. I’ll pm you with details!!

22 07 2008
islandtop

GREAT BLOG, wonderful work.

22 07 2008
Tammy

LOVE the new stuff! Your rings are always so gorgeous!!! I really like the big one, cause I love big rings.
I’ve been making your earwires and I adore them! They are so easy to do, and they work great! Thanks so much!
I’ll probably buy textured copper from you. The only texture I get is from a hammer!
I hope the problems with the ring work out, it’s too pretty to lose!

23 07 2008
Pam

love love those rings! You know what Barrie? I think I’d love to see a BIG necklace like that only with real stones! Gemstones or pebbles even! It could be very symmetrical or totally crazy! What do you think???

23 07 2008
barrieedwards

Pam, that would be an amazing piece, wouldn’t it! I’ll have to think on it. I like the idea of random pebbles. just wondering about the weight. Hmmmm…….. of course I could grind the stones thinner so they are lighter. I’ll have to start looking fro pebbles now!!! Where does one buy small smooth flattish pebbles?! πŸ™‚

23 07 2008
Bev. Carter

Hey Barrie,
Thought I join in on the “blogging”-congrats on everything!
Also,do you know-is the J.A.N forum down? Maybe something funny is going on with my computer. Let me know if you have the time–Thanks, Bev.

23 07 2008
Joanne

Barrie, that monster neklace is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

