Burning Bridges

6 09 2008

No panic, I don’t mean that there are literally bridges burning!! I’m talking about relationships and acquaintances and how ‘things’ come up and if they’re not dealt with/discussed/handled/whatever then that relationship is forever changed/destroyed and many times cannot be salvaged. Now, don’t all you blog readers panic and think I’m talking about you! LOL! Not at all!! (Bee, this is SO not about you – the timing is just a little weird!).  I’m being cryptic and I don’t mean to be, but as ones words can get oneself into all kinds of trouble, I am very careful what I ‘put out there’. (bear with me, I’m sending a message to someone – and I highly doubt they even read my blog so it will never be read, but I will feel better!! LOL!)

As many people know, I am a very forgiving person (though there are times when I swear I’m not!), but really, I am. I am also not terribly ‘reactionary’ in that when a situation occurs, I ponder it (sometimes vent about it with a personal friend or my hubby), I word things as carefully as I can, re-read what I write (or double think about what I’m going to say), and don’t respond until I’m sure what I’m going to say is going to be ‘okay’ for me forever. I don’t want to say anything that will come back to bite me in the butt some time down the road.

But no matter how careful I am there are times when my actions or words are not quite what I thought they were or the other party is not willing or able to get past it. Sometimes there will be things going on in my life that overshadow my good senses and my actions are misconstrued. And when that happens, I feel bad that the relationship is forever changed. I have mourned the loss of some I had considered good friends when this has happened. But for me, I do not like to burn bridges. I like to think that some day, some time down the road, something will happen and the doors to communication with these lost relationships might open up again. But you know, I can only open those doors if the communicator is friendly – even if we’ve had bad feelings in the past. Come to me with brusk, distant, turse or apathetic words, and I’m not going to feel overly inclined to say ‘come on by and let’s make peace’. Try signing your email with ‘hope to hear from you soon’ or throw something like ‘hope you’re doing well’ or some other sign that the drama is over and that we are moving past it. Otherwise, I’m not opening the door to more hurt. Do I look like I have ‘STUPID’ tattooed across my forehead? (shut up you guys, Randy is NOT tattooing that on my head!!)

No, I am not going to contact the person I am talking about directly – I already know that that would be a futile move (yes, I already tried that!). So, although I am not ready to open up myself to more drama and hurt, I am not burning that bridge. I’m going to sit back and enjoy my life – and all the wonderful friends I do have. Oh, and if you do think it’s you that I’m talking about – EMAIL me!! Because it probably isn’t!!! But if it is, I’ll let you know! 🙂

On a much lighter note – the poster is DONE!!!! No picture until tomorrow though. I just have the copy from the graphic artist (thank you Erin of Airwynn Glass Designs!!) and it has her watermark on it. I want to show you the unmarked version! 🙂 It’s pretty!!

Okay, off to get on with my day. This post has been on my mind for a long time, and now that it’s done, I’m moving on. Hope you all have a fabulous Friday and I apologize if my cryptic post makes you crazy!! Welcome to my world! LOL! Cheers!

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 09 2008
Bee

I knew it wasn’t about me…why would it be? 🙂 Sorry to hear that you are having a rough time especially since I know what a good person you are. Of course you don’t like burning bridges…anyone that knows you understands that you will go the extra mile to understand and work out a situation. Take a deep breath and try to let it go. I know easy advice to give but then if taken you will be all the better for it. I can’t wait to see the poster sans watermark…everyone will love it!

11 09 2008
Rita Reedy

Barrie, Just got around to reading the blogs again. Sorry you have an injured friendship out there. I hate when that happens, but sometimes you have to just set it aside and hope healing is possible sometime in the future. (((hugs!!!)))

19 09 2008
Kewlie (Tracey)

((((Huggzzzz Barrie)))) I have missed our chats! I am so sorry to hear that you are going through a rough patch with one of your friendships. I can totally relate to everything that you have written though (having had bridges burn’t in the past with people I had thought were my friends). Everything that you typed… rung true to me with my past friendships that have gone bad.

You are a really nice person, so I am guessing that they will be missing your friendship before too long. It is their loss!

On the ‘bright side’ of things…. I regard you as my friend! (((Huggzzzz))) from your Aussie Mate!

Leave a Reply

