5 11 2008

Hello again! It seems that I’ve been tagged!! Thanks Janice!. To be tagged is kind of like a chain letter without the ominous threat of the world ending or the totally cheezy ‘pass this on or have bad luck’ thing that most chain letters encompass. Don’t ever send me a chain letter – I will break the chain for sure, probably won’t even read the email!! But as this is fun, I’ll keep this tag going! I love to read different things about people I know, so hopefully those that I tag in turn will follow through so I can read cool stuff about them! πŸ™‚

The purpose of being tagged this time is to tell you (my oh so patient readers!) 7 random things about myself. Janice was much more creative – she posted 7 things that make her smile. Hmmmm, tough call but I think I can certainly come up with 7 random things about me – mainly because I always smile and that would be boring to read about!!

1. I LOATHE snow – while it looks pretty outside, it is cold, sticky, icy, cold, blech!! I grew up in Alberta, and we had some pretty long winters – not like here in BC where snow only hits us once or twice a year (much more civilized than months at a time!).

2. I absolutely LOVE rain. It could rain day and night for days, weeks on end, and I would love it just as much the last day as the first. I often stand on the back deck and just let the rain fall on me.

3. Many years ago, I owned a reptile import/wholesale business (I imported reptiles and sold them to pet stores in BC and Alberta). If you think I live in a zoo now, back then it was INSANE!!!! I would go through 20,000 crickets every couple of weeks, hundreds of mice a month, etc. So my little collection of 8 lizards now is nothing!!

4. I moved in with Randy after knowing him for only 4 days. Two weeks later I got pregnant with our first son. Now, 25 years later, we’re still not married, have four sons, two grandkids, a mortgage, lots of fur kids, and we’re still crazy about each other – guess it’s a good thing that I needed a place to live back then! LOL

5. I used to be so incredibly shy, it was painful. I had panic attacks – those are NOT fun – the last one was after our third son, Randy wanted me to go next door to the neighbor’s house (that we didn’t know) to borrow a cup of milk. I had a complete melt down. I am SO not that person anymore!

6. I hate bacon! And avacados! And fish (double blech on this one!)! I’m not fond of eggs, but I don’t hate them. Turnips are disgusting, as is Barbie Cabbage (Brussels sprouts). Cooked cabbage of any kind is blech! I guess I have to admit that I’m a picky eater, though I really don’t mean to be.

7. I was a cocktail waitress when I was 17 (legal age in Alberta at the time was 18). The manager of the bar didn’t know how old I was, I was really good at it, but I didn’t drink – I was paid in tips as I was really only helping out, not really ‘hired’! When the manager finally found out I was underage, she actually phoned my mom (who was the manager of the only other bar in town at the time) and apologized for having to make me leave the bar and my waitressing job – that was the end of my cocktail waitress career. I never went back to it! LOL I was also a taxi cab dispatcher that year – even drove taxi for a few shifts (no license, but that was a minor technicality at the time). No, the owner didn’t know I was 17 and didn’t know I only had a learner’s permit. ROFL! What a rebel I was back then, huh?!? Don’t tell my kids! πŸ™‚

Now, I think I shall tag a few of my friends – in no particular order!! Hopefully they’ll be a little more exciting than I am! πŸ™‚

1. Brendalee
2. Janine & John
3. Pam
4. Rita
5. Cheryl
6. Andee
7. Angela

Now, back to relaxing for the evening! Oh and I have to pass on a great big congratulations to the United States and their election of Barack Obama for president. That’s the only political thing you’ll hear from me! πŸ™‚ Cheers!!

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 11 2008
Bee

I always lost at tag as a kid, not fast enough…not the truth! The truth was I just got bored…could never see the point because there was no ultimate goal…just chasing each other around in a circle. Now this is a tag that could be interesting and I just may rise to the challenge. Thanks for the ‘you’re it’ Barrie…I’ll return the favour someday. πŸ™‚
P.S. I didn’t know you grew up in Alberta!! Or maybe I did and just forgot…anyways I did too but maybe you remember I told you that. See round and round in circles! πŸ™‚ Great post!!

5 11 2008
Cheryl

Thanks for the tag, Barrie! It’s fun to read about everyone, and I’ll get going with mine soon! I’m a bit behind on my blog, as usual, lol!

5 11 2008
Janice

you are one strange chick. lol

kidding!! It was fun reading yours. So ok, I could have been more creative. Oh well. blah.

5 11 2008
barrieedwards

LOL Janice, I thought YOU were the creative one with this! You did your own take on it! And yes I am strange, what’s your point!?!? ROFL!

6 11 2008
Andee

Thanks for the tag, Barrie! So much fun to read. I’m definitely not more exciting than you are – the shy, underaged cocktail waitress with the zoo! πŸ˜‰

7 11 2008
Rita Reedy

I am finishing compiling my list now. Soon to tag some other folks. πŸ˜€ You have started another one of those darned chains. At least the chain is the good kind!!!

Leave a Reply

