Finally a little bit of jewelery!

10 11 2008

Well, it’s about time! I’m sure someone is saying that! LOL Here’s a pic of the earrings I made for Tanis at Studio Indah. I LOVE the way they turned out – sorry for the kind of blurry picture.
Tanis' Earrings

And while I’m on a roll, want to see the gemstones I bought the other day? I went a little crazy, but it was so much fun! LOL Dh doesn’t know how much I spent and we’re not going to tell him, are we?!?!?
Gemstone haul
I bought three cards of stones – or was it four? Rectangular red jaspers, square rose quartz, triangular carnelian …… oh and square carnelian – yup, it was four! The pic doesn’t show the relative sizes of the stones – here’s a pic of just the fancier stones.
The good stuff!
The labradorite (bigger rectangles and teardrops) are huge! I want to say the rectangles are about an inch and a half in length alone – close enough. The four rounded squares with purple are fluorite. I don’t usually go for fluorite, but these were just too pretty not to. The pic doesn’t do them justice – you should see then in sunshine! Wow!! The little squares are apatite – they’ll go well in earrings (like Tanis’ garnet ones, only multicolored stones). The two rectangles are matte finished (not shiny) sandstone, and the two ovals are some kind of jasper. Now I need to source out some higher end fancy cabs. Wish we had decent gem shows up here – the closest one is in Seattle, and there’s no way I’ll make it this month but there’s another one in March. I might make it then.
Anyway, I promised Naaz that I would avoid the computer until Dh gets off work at 4 since I’ve been having such a hard time getting into the studio to work. And I totally admit that the computer sucks up WAY too much of my time and energy! But I had some business that HAD to get done, and I’ve been waiting for the answer to an email question. But I have the answer, so I will get off the computer and get into the studio. I promise! ๐Ÿ™‚ Check back later this week for more jewelry!! Cheers!

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 11 2008
Janice

You already know I love the earrings, but the stones you bought are to die for!! Can’t wait to see what you do with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 11 2008
Tammy

I LOVE the earrings! That labradorite is GORGEOUS!!! It good to know you’re still alive and kicking. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 11 2008
Bee

The oval jasper ones are Kimbaba. Wonderful stones…what great store did you get those from?!? ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually other than giving you a hard time I wanted to say the earrings are to die for gorgeous!!! You are certainly the Queen of Bezels and the design is fabulous! As always looking forward to see what else you create!

11 11 2008
Rita Reedy

Barrie, I love the earrings, the whole synergistic abstract design is awesome!!! I love all those gorgeous stones and can hardly wait to see what you make out of them!!!!

16 11 2008
Andee

Barrie, those earrings are simply gorgeous. I love their asymmetry! And the stones – yummy! Now I want one of the triangle carnelians for a ring… *dreams away* :o)

Leave a Reply

