Happy Friday!

29 11 2008

I’m in a much better mood than last post! LOL I’ve decided that the camera from hell (even though it is a VERY pretty shade of dark purple) is not for me. I gave it to dh, and told him that I will use it when I want to take pics of the kids at Xmas, or the cats when they’re being cute, but for jewelry it SUCKS!! I’m sticking with my old Nikon Coolpix – that isn’t really that old!! Nuff said!! Still haven’t heard a word about my adapter for my laptop. I’ll have to phone LG on Monday, I don’t have time to deal with customer service peeps today! I’m heading to the gallery to drop off some custom work (nothing pretty or fancy, or I’d take pics!) and pick up a couple of commissions to do. I thought I’d pop in here before I go and tell you about one of my students. Well, one of my former students I guess is more accurate!!!
Matt at Just Screwing Around took my beginnner’s silversmithing class last year. We got to talking about certain tools that I really liked and he took it upon himself to start creating them! It has definitely snowballed since then!! The tools I’m talking he now sells on Etsy (cheater link! LOL). The first one he came up with is the Bracelet Bending Pliers.

With these things, you take a strip of metal sheet (heavier gauge like 18 or so), texture is, shape it into whatever you want your cuff bracelet to look like, then grab one end between the big blue tubes, bend til the metal looks like a candy cane. Then release, take the other end of the metal and bend it the same way. Sounds utterly confusing when I write it, but trust me, once you’ve used these babies, you’ll NEVER go back to a mandrel for making cuffs again!! There’s no taper, there’s no trying to hold onto the mandrel, the hammer and the metal all at the same time. There’s really not much of a learning curve at all!! LOVE these things!!!
The next one he came up with is brilliant if you ask me!!

The Interchangeable Texture Hammer. This little baby is TOP quality! I don’t even know how to explain it better – this is NOT the cheapy interchangeable hammer you can get with the yellow plastic head, brass head, etc. This hammer is made to last, trust me, it’s worth every penny!! Each metal face is heat-treated so that it will last a life time. You unscrew the metal ring that holds the head in place, put your textured head of choice in, screw that ring back on, and voila. Instant texture change! Seriously, these are SUPER cool. I’m not ‘in love’ with the textures he’s chosen for the basic set (although if maybe Matt gave me mine, I could fall in love with it, hint, hint!!), however (here’s the really cool part!!), he is developing more heads even as you read. Well, he’s probably working at his day job, but you can bet he has textures on his mind! Starting in January 2009, he is going to release a new head each month!! So you’ll already have the hammer with the four basic heads (square, round, ‘V’ and a hard plastic one), you can just buy the additional heads that you like, or you can join is soon-to-be-coming ‘texture of the month’ club – or some such thing!!! I’m jumping the gun, but oh well!! LOL Suffice it to say, I think these hammers will be a great addition to those that LOVE to beat things – I mean texture things! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and before you think I’m done bragging on this stuff, check out his Leather Sand Bags.

Heavy duty leather, double stitched and glued, perfect to muffle the sound of your bench block. He has those too! I use my sand bag all the time. LOVE it!!! And I find my 4 inch bench block to be invaluable – I can always find it, it’s not so heavy that I don’t want to take it to classes with me, plus it’s bigger than that stupid 2 inch one I bought years ago that’s too small and makes me crazy. But that’s me! LOL
Anyway, super guy, super tools, check them out! ๐Ÿ™‚
Now, I’m off to the gallery, in the rain (I love rain! ๐Ÿ™‚ ), hope you have a fantastic Friday!! Cheers!

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 11 2008
Tammy

I’m going to check out his store. These look super cool!
It’s pouring rain here, too. ALL FREAKING DAY!
Have a great weekend!

2 12 2008
Rita

Wow, Barrie, these tools look fantastic!!!! Gonna go take a looky loo.
Hugs!!!
Rita

Leave a Reply

