Not long now!

30 12 2008

It won’t be long before all that snow is gone – oh please, oh please, oh please!! It’s raining like crazy here today, and that’s just fine by me! The only drawback is that the snow in the back yard is giving way to mud! Large amounts of mud! I’ll have to get a video of the mud dogs when they get going. Dh put out some cockatiel bird seed the other day, feeling sorry for the little finch type birds that were flitting around in the snow. While we were out shopping yesterday, we found a long tube bird feeder that he could hang from one of the trees (safe from the darn cats!), we picked up a big bag of wild bird seed, and now we have this cute little feeder covered in little birds!! Love it! We could watch it for hours. Oh wait – we do! ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of endless hours of entertainment, we got our fish tanks all sorted out – ended up getting a different filter for my little one from the boys (the other was way too noisy and the poor fish couldn’t have been enjoying it). I still need to get a different backing for it, and we need a cat fish (or loach!) for the goldfish tank in the living room, but as Petsmart was a ZOO of post-Xmas shoppers, we decided that things will be just fine for a few days til it cools off in the retail sector!

I haven’t been in my studio for days, it seems like weeks!!! I am thoroughly enjoying having Randy (dh) home during the holidays. That hasn’t happened in years and years. He’s always had a day or two extra off (like a four day long weekend) but this year, he’s off until Jan. 5!!!). We haven’t spent this much time together since he was unemployed a bunch of years ago (at least 10 yrs I thinK). We’re both more mature, there’s no kids in the way, and I gotta say, he’s AWESOME!!! I really like this guy! Quirks, idiosyncrasies and all!! He cooks (way too well!), he cleans, he gives me countless hours of comedic relief (my friends know all too well that Randy-stories are usually dotted with silly things said or done!), he never ever complains when I bring home yet another stray or end up with yet another tank of reptiles or fish (hmmmm, haven’t tried Craigslist for fish yet! LOL!). Not too shabby after 25 years together – I am one VERY lucky woman. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope your year is coming to a comfortable close. I think I’m ready for 2009 and whatever it has in store. Cheers!!

Actions

Information

One response

31 12 2008
Rita

Barrie, How sweet to fall in love with your guy all over again, or at least spend enough time together to remember what made you fall in love in the first place. Hugs to you both!!!! Yea for snow melting. I would imagine in your life and mine both mud would certainly be the mess of choice if the other choice is snow. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

