The aftermath of appliance hell!!!

1 06 2009

Okay, so it’s not really hell, but it sure has been aggravating!!! Let’s see, the saga begins a few weeks ago actually. Dh decided to cut the lawn for the first time this year. Nope, the lawnmower is toast. The motor is seized or something ridiculous, but it ain’t running for nothing. So we decided we’d rent a lawnmower for a couple of hours and worry about buying one when finances are a bit better. Then it rained. Every weekend for a while. Last weekend we were way too busy, so no lawnmowing. Ah well, maybe we’ll get a lawnmower next payday we say. Then the dryer died. Well, didn’t really die, but made a gawdawful noise something similar to a million fingernails on a million chalkboards. Bah! Time for a new dryer – there goes the lawnmower. But it has to wait til payday. Then we get the offer of a free king size bed!! Woohoo!! Finally a big bed!!! Big enough for dh, me and the two dogs! ๐Ÿ™‚ But it came without a bed frame. So we had to wait until payday to buy a cheapy metal one. So for the past week, I have been struggling to get out of bed each time as it’s sitting on the floor and with my bad hip, getting up is a severe challenge – especially when I’m so stiff and achy in the morning. Sigh!! And we have no king size sheets. Yup, payday. Oh payday. Glorious payday. It finally arrives, and I order a dryer. Yay!!! It arrives via nice used appliance guy (Greg of Greg’s Appliances in Aldergrove – he remembered selling us the last dryer 10 years ago!!! Pretty good use out of a $150 dryer! LOL). He leaves the dryer for dh to wrestle into the house. Which dh does. Alone. The nut. But he got it in, got it hooked up and the great laundry chore begins. But the dryer doesn’t work. It takes 2 hours to dry a small load. Sigh. So I call Greg first thing yesterday, he comes and assesses the problem, faulty short somewhere, has to bring yet another dryer. While htis is going on – my computer crashes. It dies. No, not the blue screen of death. I couldn’t handle that! But it starts doing horrible things, freezing, shutting down, etc. Not a happy computer. So now I have no clean clothes, my lawn looks like the savannas of the Serengheti, I’m not sleeping well because getting off the floor is an agonizing challenge every time, the sheets I bought at Walmart are actually queen size not king, and I can’t get online to whine about it because my computer is dead. *gasp*

By this point, I’m ready to give up. I’m an optimist. Anyone that knows me knows that I never let ‘stuff’ get me down. But come on. A person needs sleep. A person needs clean clothes. A person really does deserve a tidy yard, even if it’s not manicured and beautiful. But most of all this person needs a computer so she can tell someone who cares! ROFL!

And now it’s Sunday. The second new dryer is in place, and running well. All the laundry is caught up, folded and fresh. The bed is up on a frame (a red neck cinder block frame – shut up, at least it’s not the floor!!) so sleep is glorious in the new bed!! More importantly getting up is a piece of cake! The front lawn has a date with our third son (Mark) tomorrow morning – he’s going to use the weed eater on it, then we’ll zip over and rent a lawnmower for a couple of hours. Bye bye Serengheti! And my computer (my beloved laptop) has embarked on a spa vacation with my oldest son’s (Chris) buddy who is a computer guru. The boys are going to make my beloved laptop purr like a kitten – or at least run like a top!! And how can I write this crazy blog post to let you all know what my week’s been like? Because Chris left his beloved laptop here for his mom to use. Can you believe that? Best son ever! LOL (they all are, but he gets special bonus points today for dropping everything, running out to our house and leaving me his laptop!) Looks like the appliance hell is almost behind me……. fingers crossed!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

So if you’re expecting an email from me and haven’t gotten one, it just means that my email program is on holidays with my computer and will be back soon. If you need me before it gets back, send me an email to fvbeadshow@gmail.com. I can check that one online. Hope your week is better than my last week was! But on a bright note, the sun has been shining and all is right with the world!! ๐Ÿ™‚ See? Ever the optimist! ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 06 2009
Carol

I will bring you treats tonight in hopes of making you happy!

3 06 2009
Tammy

When it rains, it pours! Sorry to hear about all the electronic troubles, but maybe it’s all over now!

Leave a Reply

