My new ring!

19 06 2009

Well, it’s at least a week or two old, but new to you guys! 🙂 One of my students (thank you Dea!!) gave me this Montana agate cabochon to play with. I LOVE it. Not sure what it is about Montana agate that I love so much, but there ya go! Anyway, here’s the ring I made for myself from it.

It’s HUGE!!! Rather a statement ring, don’t you think? For those of you that make jewelry, the secret to this is gallery wire. Make a plain bezel wider than your gallery wire is, make a gallery wire bezel the same size as the plain one then put it on a ring mandrel and hammer it a bit larger til if fits snuggly over the plain bezel. Leaving the gallery bezel around the plain bezel, solder them onto a flat silver sheet backing. Trim away the excess, file and sand down to the gallery bezel. Solder the bezel plate to a ring shank. Polish, set, done. If you have any in-depth questions, feel free to ask. It’s not hard at all, and a fun way to use gallery wire which I normally don’t like! LOL
Anyway, hope you’re all having a great Thursday. I’m having a ‘feeling sorry for self’ day and I think it’s only because I’m tired. Had to get up at 6:30am to babysit my granddaughter before taking her to school. I am SO not used to getting up that early! LOL I see a nap in my future!! Best get going, nearly time to pick the little darling back up from school. Cheers!

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 06 2009
Tammy

Well, your ring matches my necklace! It looks like spaceships over the desert too! I love Montana Agate and kept the necklace for myself.
I love the way you used the gallery wire and now I’ll have to do that too.
LOVE the ring!

19 06 2009
Rita Reedy

I love Monatana agate, too, Barrie. I think it has something to do with the fact of seeing so many things in the little flecks and color changes. I am seeing a flock of geese at sunset in this one. LOL Love you’ll never be able to get that out of your head. What a stunning ring it is!!! Love the others, too, but this one sings my song.

19 06 2009
Janice

As I said on the forum. You rock.

Yep, you do.

I’m going to try doubling the bezel wire — very cool idea.

Did I mention you rock?

Janice

19 06 2009
Maggie

I was thinking birds flying over the mountains of Montana. Gorgeous! So glad you made something for yourself.

19 06 2009
barrieedwards

You guys are awesome!! Thank you for the kudos – you have no idea how much I needed them tonight! 🙂

25 06 2009
Janine

Double bezel. Fabulous! And I am definitely interested in a retreat! Last week seems to have been miserable for many people. I hope this week is better!

Leave a Reply

