August at last!

3 08 2010

Well, as many know, this past weekend was a momentous occasion for our family. My second son, Kevin, married his long-time girlfriend (and mother of our wonderful grandson, Dayton!) on Saturday, July 31. It was a fantastically romantic ceremony (yes, tears were shed by many, myself included!), and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day. I volunteered to make the flower girl dresses as well as the jewelry for the bridesmaids and flower girls and I managed to pull it off by the skin of my teeth! Bet you didn’t know I could sew, did ya? Surprise!! Well, in all honesty, it’s been many many years (I used to sew all my kids clothes when they were toddlers as well as all my own maternity clothes – way back when!). But I guess much like riding a bike, it all came back to me (including how much I HATE putting zippers in things!). Anyway! The bride chose the pattern and the fabric, and I did the rest. Three little girl’s dresses! (two size 8, one size 5! So tiny! lol). The fabric she chose was a beautiful ivory colored satin – her dress was also ivory so they matched perfectly. Her wedding colors were a rich amethyst purple and a soft sage green. The bridesmaids wore the purple, and the flower girls’ sashes were green, as were all the ribbons, bows, decorations, etc. After several very long nights, and a couple of fittings, here’s the result of the sewing endeavor – this is Freya (my granddaughter) and Dayton (grandson & son of the wedding couple). Aren’t they just too cute!?!

Here’s a picture of Freya’s necklace – Claire (the bride) wanted something fairly simple, and her favorite flower is a calla lily so it just made sense to make sterling lilies with purple freshwater pearls delicately dangling from fine chain.

I know, not a great picture – I hate this camera. One of these days, I’ll get a new one, so will have to make due in the meantime!! Anyway!! As for my own wedding accessory, I made this necklace – wait!! Let me preface this with the fact that I had next to no time, a 7 year old nattering in my studio (so hard to concentrate when she does that!), and the original design was soooooo ugly once I got to the putting together stage that I had to come up with something different on the fly. So it was made in less than a couple of hours (I know, it shows!), and the only saving grace was that at the wedding, people were so happy to have an open bar, they were not looking at my necklace! Hahahahaha!!! Oh, here’s a couple of pics – it changes color depending on the angle you look at it (purple oilslick druzy with freshwater pearl).

So now that the wedding is over and done with (and it a wonderful time was had by all!), I can get back into jewelry/bead show mode. It’s about time, I think! 🙂 Stay tuned, I’m sure I’ll be doing much more creating in the near future!! Cheers!

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 08 2010
Janice

Holy WOW, you go girl!! And no, I don’t believe I ever knew you could sew. Makes me wonder what other crazy talents you are hiding…………….lol

🙂
JANICE

5 09 2010
Anna

hey …i just discovered this wonderful page while searching for druzy items…you have some beautiful pieces.. 🙂
Is this lovely purple druzy pendant for sale? Im a huge druzy fan ….thanks..u have an amazing talent

6 03 2011
barrieedwards

I am interested in pictures, please send them to fvbeadshow@gmail.com
Thank you!

Leave a Reply

