Lights, camera, action!

5 04 2011

Recently one of my Facebook friends started showing herself live on Ustream while she works in her studio. Her thinking is that with people watching, she’ll be more inclined to actually work, rather than putter around. She also teaches classes (we’re talking lampwork), and I wonder what effect her live working will have on her class attendance. I guess time will tell. The reason I’m bringing this up here is because I was wondering if that might work for me in my studio. Would you sit at your computer and watch me make jewelry? You’d be able to hear me talking (oh, how I love to talk!), and would be able to ask me questions about what I’m doing via a chat form (typing, not talking) and I could answer you in real time. I’m finding the thought rather interesting, and as I’m seriously lacking human interaction in my studio these days, I’m thinking of figuring out a way to do the live streaming video at my bench. Hmmm, wait a minute, I’d actually have to clean my bench! That might be a good thing!! So what do you think? Silly idea? Shooting myself in the foot (class wise, I mean – who would take a class when they could watch me work)? Or should I just do it?? Any and all input appreciated! 🙂

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 04 2011
Mike O'Leary

Not sure if this is a repeat…

you might find class attendance goes up. You might just generate more interest. I think folks might watch, attempt, then try to sign up for a class. It is hard to learn how to do without actually haveing an instructor in the room.

Mike

5 04 2011
barrieedwards

Interesting concept!! Thanks Mike!

7 04 2011
Jane Perala

Yes, yes, yes I would certainly watch you creating! Although I don’t make very much jewelry, I am interested in watching the various processes (sp?).

7 04 2011
Trish

Barrie, you probably already know what my response will be to your idea about video streaming…..from this far away where I can’t get to your classes, I would LOVE it! 🙂

10 04 2011
alissa

I would love to see it. Also i would like to talk to you about classes and drop in studio time. please email me at alissaophoff@gmail.com. many thanks

28 04 2011
brenda

I don’t think it would decrease your class time at all because this wouldn’t compare to being in a class with an instructor where you have access to one on one assistance and feedback. It is a very different learning environment. i agree with a previous response that it may increase interest in your classes. I have taken your classes before and would be continuing if i wasn’t a couple of provinces away. I am not sure how to access Ustream (never heard of it before), but I would be interested in watching.

Leave a Reply

