Busy Week’s Work

1 05 2011

Hello again!
I’m getting better at remember to blog these days! Yay! This week, I managed to finish a few pieces though you won’t get to see two of them, as they’ve already gone to their new homes (bling for Naaz!!). But I did get other pieces done, and thought I’d share here before taking them to the gallery. Without further ado, for your viewing pleasure…..
First is a square cubic zirconia ring with silver balls on either side of the stone.

Second is the same style of ring with an oval cubic zirconia.

Next, there’s a beautiful white pearl ring with a single 14k gold ball on either side of the stone.

Here’s another square cubic zirconia ring, but this is one of my ‘Rail Rings’ – dubbed by one of my students (Rail Rings have those wide rounded edges). This actually started out as a ring for Naaz, but somehow we got our signals mixed and she’s NOT a size 7.5 so this ring became stock for the gallery! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy accidents! ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was at the last gem show, my friend and I bought a couple of strands of GORGEOUS aquamarine beads. Here’s one of the oval ones, set in a bezel. LOVE the blue in these!!

Now, this one is a beautiful blue chalcedony druzy cab – it’s a very high sided stone, so I had to get a little creative with the edge of the bezel (check out the second picture, shows it in much better detail).


And now for something completely different. I’ve had these two beads on my bench (and in my scrap bucket more often than not!), but an intervention by a couple of friends has saved them from the refinery! First is a huge (and I do mean HUGE) bead – I’m not sure what you’d call this shape (though if you were a lampwork artist, I think the closest bead press would be a Kalera?). It’s textured with my favorite leaf imprint.

(here’s a pic of it in my hand – remember, I have HUGE hands! LOL)

And finally the second bead – much smaller, but still quite substantial.

These beads are what we metal workers call ‘hollow forms’. They are completely fabricated, not cast, and a little tricky to pull off. They’re a challenge, but fun to make.
Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to the past week and a half (okay, almost two weeks). I have more on the go, but you’ll have to wait for those.
Oh, one more note! No, I have not forgotten about the video streaming. I have the camera, just have to figure out how it works!! Not long now, I don’t think. I’ll be sure to let everyone know when I’m ready to roll!!
Now, off to my studio with my granddaughter – she wants to help me make jewelry. I imagine I’ll spend most of the day practicing the fine art of PATIENCE! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend everyone!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

