Bead Soup Blog Party Reveal – Sept 17/11!!

17 09 2011

Welcome! My name is Barrie, and my partner is Lyn Foley – don’t forget to check out her blog! And if you want to spend countless hours tripping around the blogs of some more amazing artists, check out Lori Anderson’s Pretty Things Blog for a complete list of links to all the participants. Without Lori, this little blog party wouldn’t exist!

My name is Barrie, and I joined the BSBP to force myself to work outside the box, so to speak. I do love beads, as evidenced by the bead show that I organize every year here in beautiful British Columbia! But alas, the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry! Who wrote that, anyway?? (quick Google check – according to dictionary.com, the saying is adapted from a line in β€œTo a Mouse,” by Robert Burns). Well, back to the point!!! I had the best of plans for all my little beady goodies from Lyn Foley – she sent me some gorgeous lampwork beads she made herself, along with lots of beautiful pearls (clever lady – she didn’t even know I LOVE pearls!!), along with a cute sterling frog clasp. Check these out!! (I definitely can’t do her gorgeous work justice with a camera!!).

Wouldn’t you know it, though, this month has gone to He** in a Handcart (no, I won’t Google that one for you!). Not only do I have my second oldest son, his wife and my 3 yr old grandson suddenly staying with us for a month (heaven help my sanity!!!), but there’s 2 extra dogs in the house, school started back up for my granddaughter (who is here half the time so I can get her to and from school while her dad is at work), I also have the Fraser Valley Bead Show creeping up on me and have students chomping at the bit to get the classes online for registration, vendors need nagging to get their paperwork in and somewhere in all that, I have custom jewelry that needs doing on a regular basis. And if that’s not quite busy enough for you, I’ve spent a couple of weeks going back and forth in negotiations with a new hotel arranging a new bead show (Calgary, Alberta, June 1-2, 2012). So, with all the mayhem and craziness that landed in my lap this month, I’m a little behind in my projects!! BAD ME!!! It’s going to b September 17th for 24 whole hours though, so who knows how many pieces I can finish before the end of the day!!

I will be adding pics of the finished pieces (I know, I’m late – story of my life!), in the next few days. Lori did say that not everyone will make it to all the blogs on the first day or two, so I’m hoping some of you will drop by to see the finished goodies that will be coming very soon!! And if you made it here (and read all this stuff!!), please leave a comment and I’ll put you in the drawing for a pair of earrings I’m working on (pic coming soon of course!).

Thanks for stopping by, hope you get a chance to return to see the finished goodies, won’t be long, I promise! πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

38 responses

17 09 2011
Pam

I’ll come back to see what you have done with that Very Inspiring mix of beads! Yum! And that frog clasp – so mayan! I’m sure you will be making something really wonderful once you get a few quiet moments πŸ™‚

17 09 2011
maggie

What a wonderful mix of beads to play with. Hope you have lots of ideas before the 17th is over because I will be back.

17 09 2011
Lynne Johnson

There are only 24 hours in a day… You need at least twice that to get it all done. Not sure how you do it!

17 09 2011
Lyn Foley

Hi Barrie – Sorry not to see a creation – I’ll be back to check it out. Hop on over to see what I did with your goodies. Let me know what you think. best of luck with your schedule.

17 09 2011
Deci Worland MacKinnon

I’ll be back.

17 09 2011
Lesley

Ha, you and I were in the same boat as Rabbie Burns – I’ll hop back soon to see you and hopefully you will have had some time to yourself πŸ˜‰

18 09 2011
emanda

Gosh, take a deep breath and center yourself. The beads will still be there when your life returns to the “norma;” level of chaos we all deal with.

We’re all being pushed outside our comfort zones β€” with amazing results!

Enjoy the hop,
Emanda

http://artemisiastudio.blogspot.com/2011/09/bead-soup-reveal.html

18 09 2011
emanda

β€œnorma;” level = “normal” level with stumbly fingers. Sorry!

Emanda
artymezia(at)yahoo.com

18 09 2011
Shay Stone

Thats quite a fun bead soup you have to play with. Have fun with it and I will find my way back to see what you’ve created!

18 09 2011
Noemi

Can’t wait to read your post!! I am sure is going to be lots of fun.
Poor you, how many dogs did you say you had at home??

18 09 2011
barrieedwards

Noemi, thank you! (And thanks to all of you for reading through my mayhem!) Hubby and I have three dogs (a shih tzu/terrier, a basset/pointer and a pure basset hound), add the pitbull that I look after for my son while he’s at work (all day every weekday and sometimes on weekends), and then the miniature pincher that the son staying with us has – that’s 5 dogs!! In one small house! At the same time. Of course I don’t mention the 7 cats, 6 fish tanks, bunches of lizards, and birds. My house is usually chaotic (in a good way) but this month it’s INSANE!! in a not so good way! πŸ™‚ But we’re managing, just having a heck of a time getting anything done! πŸ™‚ I WILL have jewelry to post very soon!

18 09 2011
Sandy Richardson

You Know what “Life Happens” Just know All things work themselves out. Like
Emanda says take a deep breath.
Be Blessed to be a blessing

18 09 2011
Therese

I will come back Barrie, don’t fret life has a way of making our lives feel totally upside down, but then it rights it’s self.
Therese

18 09 2011
alice craddick

What rich vibrant colored soup you got, I can’t wait to see what you create with them!! Why does the clock always seem to go twice as fast when we are behind???
Alice’s Beads and Baubles

19 09 2011
Lori Anderson

No worries! Shoot me an email when you’re ready!

19 09 2011
Shaiha Williams

Oh I will definitely be coming back to see what you have make up with all those lovely ingredients.

19 09 2011
Marie-Noel Voyer-Cramp

I live in Calgary Alberta, so perhaps we need to talk soon about your show in June!! I might just be interested πŸ˜‰ I may even be able to help if you need it!!

I believe my email is attached, so give me a jingle πŸ˜‰

20 09 2011
barrieedwards

I’m in the middle of getting bead show classes put together for my fall show, so if you don’t hear from me, PLEASE email me at fvbeadshow@gmail.com!! I’m definitely looking for vendors for the Calgary show!!

19 09 2011
Boot~C

BREEEEEATHE ~ I’ll be back! πŸ™‚

19 09 2011
Laura Twiford

Well, you do have some wonderful soup mix to play with as an escape! I’ll be back

19 09 2011
Cherrie Fick

Those beads are gorgeous. I would love to know when you finish. It is difficult when life gets in the way of our plans but believe me we all have things so don’t feel bad. Good luck.

19 09 2011
Deb Bee

I hope to see your creation when you finish it. πŸ™‚

19 09 2011
Cindy Cima Edwards

What a gorgeous soup! Can’t wait to see what you do with it.!

20 09 2011
andreatrank

I wish my little business was going as well as yours. It seems your problem is a good one in a bad economy. I will definite stop by again because the beads you received were gorgeous. Good luck on managing life.

20 09 2011
Lori Dorrington

I love the beads you received! I’ll stop by later to see the results. I’m sure I won’t be disappointed. Cheers!
Lori

21 09 2011
Skye ~ Creative Chaos

I’ll add you to my ‘revisit’ list to make sure I get to see your results!
And omg… I LOVE those lamp work beads she made you ! And that frog clasp is SO adorable! my mom is a frog fanatic so I need to find where to get my little hands on one!

21 09 2011
Stacey

Great soup can’t wait to see what you come up with!! And remember to BREATHE!!! πŸ™‚

22 09 2011
Sweet Freedom

Gorgeous beads – you can’t go wrong here!

22 09 2011
Mylene Hillam

Hope life settles down for you soon. I’m sure Lori will post so that we all know when to check back to see your bead soup… it looks like it will be worth waiting for.

25 09 2011
Jennifer

Ahh, la vida loca πŸ™‚ Isn’t that the way of it? Hope things calm down for you soon!

27 09 2011
Serena Trent

Well you got a nice soup going there! Wishing you well!

29 09 2011
Kristi

I will hop back by!

29 09 2011
Terri G.

Can you please let me know when you post..that soup mix is amazing!

2 10 2011
chicandfrog

I will hope back!

Ambra

2 10 2011
chicandfrog

… hop, not hope…

3 10 2011
Karen Williams

Well Barrie, I posted a semi-finished piece on the Bead Soup reveal day. Now, it’s two weeks later and I’m hoping to have the piece finished, photographed and posted by the middle of this week, so you’re not the only one! πŸ™‚

4 10 2011
Lori Dorrington

Darn! I was hoping you had finished the challenge by now…I’ll stop back by again in a few weeks. I love the beads you received, can’t wait to see what you make with them. Cheers!
Lori

4 01 2012
JP Conner

I really like the silver earrings at the bottom of the picture. They look like little penguins to me.

Leave a Reply

