It’s definitely spring here!

16 04 2015

I count my lucky stars every day that I live somewhere that doesn’t get horrendous winter weather (I hate snow!!). We’ve had a really mild winter this year and we’re definitely into a lovely spring season. My spring classes are well under way and I’m really looking forward to all of them! I have a Tuesday evening Advanced Silversmithing class that just started this week and we (the students and I) put our heads together and came up with an exciting game plan for the next 7 more weeks that we’re together! Next week is making and using punches, Viking knit chains, and a continuation of a forged copper bracelet that I started with them this week. If you’re looking to take a class, I have openings in most of my Saturday classes in Chilliwack at UFV. This Saturday is Spinning Rings (always a favorite!) and next week is the insanely popular Drilled Stone Pendant class. These classes are the best value around (only $69 for 4 hours plus a kit fee – $45 for the spinning ring and $50 for the stone pendant class) and be warned that future class prices will be higher. There was a technical glitch when the classes went to print and they posted the wrong price all over the place! Get the good deal while you can! Heh heh! Oh and I have 6 people already signed up for my week long Summer Bootcamp in July! Still a few spaces left there, so if you want to spend an entire week (Monday to Friday 9am-4pm) creating and learning metal work with me, check out the UFV website and sign up! Can’t wait for that one! And while I’m talking classes, I’m putting the summer classes together for Kellie’s Bead Boutique now and hope to have them ready by the end of the month. These ones will start in June. If there’s something specific you want to see, don’t forget to let me know!! For now, I’m off to get the notes for this weekend’s classes ready. This organization thing is new to me – I like it, but it sure is hard! LOL Cheers!!

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 04 2015
tinman39

Can you send me an email with some more info on the spinning ring, gauge of SS and material of 2 or 3 spinners? I live on the Island and want to make sure that this class will be beneficial to me.

16 04 2015
barrieedwards

We’re using 20g sterling silver sheet to make the ring band & various gauges of silver, copper & brass wire to make the spinners. Each student can choose the spinners they would like to use. Email me at fvbeadshow @ gmail . com if you’d like more information. Thanks!

13 12 2016
Alyssa S

Hi Barrie!
I found your artwork on Pinterest (then this blog through Wet Canvas) and wanted to ask your permission to get a slightly modified version of your *beautiful* line dragon piece as a tattoo. It’s such a fantastic piece and I’d love to be able to have it be part of me, but of course I’ll respect your wishes if you’d rather I didn’t use it.
Hope this finds you well!
Alyssa

Leave a Reply

